Item added to your cart.

Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 & Tragic Overture - Cherubini: Eliza (Overture)
Alexander Melnikov / Ivor Bolton / Sinfonieorchester Basel
Harmonia Mundi
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 27, 2021

A peak of the Romantic concerto.

With his First Concerto, the young Brahms set his own course in the wake of Beethoven and Schumann and at the same time poured forth his personal emotions in this work of impressive dimensions. The Russian soloist has chosen an instrument contemporary with the premiere, a magnificent Blüthner piano from 1859, a perfect match for the Sinfonieorchester Basel under its British conductor. In addition to Brahms’s Tragic Overture, the programme also includes the much rarer Overture to Éliza, an opera by a composer whom Brahms greatly admired: Cherubini.

  1. 1 Tragic Overture, Op. 81 15:25
  2. 2 Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15: I. Maestoso 23:50
  3. 3 Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15: II. Adagio 13:31
  4. 4 Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15: III. Rondo. Allegro non troppo 12:45
  5. 5 Eliza, ou Le Voyage aux Glaciers du Mont Saint-Bernard: Overture 8:38
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences