Item added to your cart.

J.S. Bach: The Complete Works for Keyboard, Vol. 5, "Toccata & Weimar 1708-1717"
Benjamin Alard
Harmonia Mundi
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 12, 2021

With this volume 5, Benjamin Alard closes the trilogy dedicated to the Weimar period. Here we reach the toccatas, preludes, fantasies and fugues that show the extent to which Bach now mastered French and Italian influences, only to emancipate himself from them and compose in complete freedom. An unexpected instrument makes its first appearance in this complete recording played on the finest historical keyboards: the clavichord, perfectly at home alongside the organ and the harpsichord.

  1. 1 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 565 7:39
  2. 2 "Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns halt", BWV 1128 (Chorale Prelude) 5:11
  3. 3 "Liebster Jesu, wird sind hier", BWV 731 (Chorale Prelude) 1:54
  4. 4 "Liebster Jesu, wird sind hier", BWV 730 (Chorale Prelude) 1:18
  5. 5 Prelude and fugue in C Major, BWV 545a (Early version) 5:24
  6. 6 "Jesu, meine Freude", BWV 713 (Chorale Prelude) 4:59
  7. 7 "Christus, der uns selig macht", BWV 747 (Chorale Prelude) 3:58
  8. 8 "Herzlich tut mich verlangen", BWV 727 (Chorale Prelude) 1:46
  9. 9 "Liebster Jesu, wird sind hier", BWV 706 (Chorale Prelude) 2:14
  10. 10 Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543 (Early version BWV 543/1a for the Prelude) 9:04
Show All Tracks 47

Benjamin Alard

--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences