Item added to your cart.

Richard Strauss: Don Qvixote. Till Eulenspiegel
Francois-Xavier Roth / Gurzenich-Orchester Koln / Jean-Guihen Queyras / Tabea Zimmermann
Harmonia Mundi
Catalogue Number
Release Date
September 3, 2021

After two memorable recordings devoted to Mahler’s Third and Fifth symphonies, François-Xavier Roth continues his exploration of the major works premiered by the Gürzenich Orchestra. In the spotlight this time are two of the young Richard Strauss’s most brilliant achievements: Till Eulenspiegel and Don Quixote. In the latter, a symphonic poem in the guise of a double concerto, Jean-Guihen Queyras and Tabea Zimmermann form a picaresque duo playing the Knight of the Doleful Countenance and his squire Sancho Panza.

  1. 1 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Introduzione. Massiges Zeitmass 5:55
  2. 2 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Thema. Massig (Don Quixote, Knight of the Doleful Countenance) ? Maggiore (Sancho Panza) 2:01
  3. 3 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation I. Gemachlich (The adventure with the windmills) 2:31
  4. 4 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation II. Kriegerisch (The battle with the sheep) 1:39
  5. 5 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation III. Massiges Zeitmass (Dialogue between knight and squire) 7:10
  6. 6 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation IV. Etwas breiter (The adventure with the pilgrims) 1:55
  7. 7 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation V. Sehr langsam (The knight's vigil) 4:02
  8. 8 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation VI. Schnell (The meeting with Dulcinea) 1:08
  9. 9 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation VII. Ein wenig ruhiger als vorher (The ride through the air) 1:09
  10. 10 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation VIII. Gemachlich (The voyage in the enchanted boat) 1:49
  11. 11 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation IX. Schnell und sturmisch (The contest with the supposed enchanters) 1:12
  12. 12 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Variation X. Viel breiter (The duel with the Knight of the White Moon ? The defeated Don Quixote's journey home) 4:29
  13. 13 Don Quixote, Op. 35: Finale. Sehr ruhig (Death of Don Quixote) 5:39
  14. 14 Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28 14:40
  15. 15 Romanze for Cello and Orchestra, TrV. 118 9:00
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies and similar technologies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences